Get to know Taekwondo, Basic Techniques, and Belt Levels

“Taekwondo is a type of martial arts sport from South Korea that is quite popular. The focus of taekwondo moves is high foot kicks and fast hand techniques.”

Get to know Taekwondo, Basic Techniques, and Belt Levels

Hellodoc, Jakarta – Taekwondo is a type of self-defense sport from South Korea. Even so, this martial art is also widely known globally. Like other types of martial arts, taekwondo also has elements of foot and hand movements. Physically, taekwondo develops strength, speed, balance, flexibility, and stamina.

An example of the unification of mental and physical disciplines from this popular martial art is the breaking of wooden planks, bricks or tiles, which requires mastery of physical techniques and concentration. It is to focus one’s strength.

Definition of Taekwondo Sports

In Korean, “tae” means hitting or crushing with the foot, “kwon” means hitting or crushing with the head, and “do” means walking.

Taekwondo is known for its movement focus on high kicks and fast hand techniques. This is what distinguishes it from other popular martial arts, such as karate.

A taekwondo athlete or student usually wears a uniform (dobok), which is black or white with a belt (dhee). There are at least three main styles dobokwith the most obvious differences being seen in clothing, namely:

  • Outerwear with a cleavage that resembles traditional South Korean clothing.
  • Clothes with neck V-neck (without slit) which is usually worn by world taekwondo athletes.
  • Vertical closed garments (without slits).

This martial art is traditionally done barefoot (barefoot).

Taekwondo Basic Techniques

Launching from various sources, here are the basic taekwondo techniques that must be mastered:

1. Sawhorse

The role of the horses is as a basis for attacking or defending themselves. Perfect stance is the key to balance and defense. Here are some types of stance techniques in taekwondo:

  • What koobi: the horses with long strides.
  • Ap seogi: namely the short stride stance, how to do this by making sure the toes are facing the same position as the feet.
  • Moa seogi: This is done by holding your legs together vertically with your body facing the whole front.
  • Dwit koobi: the stance that is done with the legs open, the hind legs must be to the side, and the front legs are straight forward.
  • Joochoom seogi: a stance in which the legs must be parallel to the sides and ends of the straight legs. Then bend your legs up to your calves and knees.
  • Boom seogi: horses with the attitude of the front legs are behind with a stepping position. Then the back leg is bent, so that the weight is on the foot. Then keep bending your front leg forward, making sure your toes touch the floor.

2. Punch technique (jireugi)

There are many types of strokes in taekwondo, namely:

  • Yeop Jireugithat is, a sideways blow.
  • Chi jireugii.e. a blow up.
  • Are jireugii.e. a downward blow.
  • Momtong jireugii.e. a hit to the middle.
  • Dolryeo jireugithat is, a hooking blow.
  • Pyojeok jireugihitting the target.

3. Kick technique (chagi)

In taekwondo, kicks are the main movement of this martial art. To become a taekwondo master, you must master various kicking techniques. The following are the types of kicking techniques in taekwondo:

  • Dwi chaginamely the technique of kicking back.
  • Ap chaginamely the technique of kicking forward.
  • Yeop chaginamely the technique of kicking sideways.
  • Twie ap chaginamely the technique of kicking forward while jumping.

4. Blocking technique (makki)

Blocking techniques include basic techniques that exist in every type of self-defense. The parry in taekwondo is called makki. The following are the types of blocking techniques:

  • Makki’s talentwhich is a block from the inside to the outside that leads to the middle.
  • are makkidown parry to parry the opponent’s kick.
  • Ans makkiouter center parry.
  • Elgo makkiparry the head.

5. Slash technique (chigi)

Another basic taekwondo technique is the slash. This technique can be used to attack the enemy. The following are the types of slash techniques in taekwondo:

  • Me jumeok naeryoa technique that goes up to down.
  • Dungjumeok eolgul ap chigitechniques on the head and front.
  • Han Sonnal Mok Chigia technique if the opponent uses a fist like a knife.
  • Jebipoom mok chigitechnique on the outside to get into the inside.

6. Pattern (poomsae)

taekwondo pattern or poomsae, is an important part of the sport of taekwondo. A pattern is a series of movements linked together in a defined order. The basic and advanced techniques of taekwondo can be contained in one pattern. The higher the level of the opponent, the greater the difficulty of the technique and the complexity of the pattern.

Athletes must display a hight pattern in front of the judges. To form the pattern perfectly, you must master the following:

  • Accuracy. The taekwondo pattern must start and end in the same place.
  • Posture. Athletes must have body weight properly distributed during each different foot position and movement. Each technique must be aligned correctly.
  • Realism. Each technique must display speed, power, and determination to be used realistically as an attack or defense.
  • Spirit. Self-confidence, belief in one’s abilities, and the intention to do one’s best personally are indispensable.
  • Courtesy. Proper manners must be displayed when interacting with judges directly before and after the match. Respect must also be given to the opponent.
  • Form. The qualities that are assessed in every taekwondo match include proper breathing technique and body control.

Belt Ranks in Taekwondo Martial Arts

In the martial art of taekwondo, there are 10 levels of ability levels even though there are only 5 color belts. The color of the belt indicates the skill level of an athlete.

  • White. The white color symbolizes innocence. This is a belt for beginners who don’t have any taekwondo skills at all. No test is required to earn this belt, as this is where taekwondo learning begins.
  • Yellow. Symbolizes the land from which the tree will sprout. At this stage students learn the basic skills of taekwondo. It takes at least four months to learn a taekwondo pattern before moving on to the next belt.
  • Green. Symbolizes a tree growing and continuing to grow. Athletes’ skills at this stage begin to develop more rapidly, although there is still much to be learned.
  • Blue. It symbolizes a fast-growing tree, stretching towards the sky. The mastery of the athlete’s taekwondo skills is progressing.
  • Red. Symbolizes danger. This is a good stage for athletes, who are warned to exercise control and fight. Athletes’ skills are great, but they need mental discipline. This level requires significant mental preparation.
  • Black. It symbolizes that the tree has matured and the athlete has developed deep proficiency in taekwondo. This belt is the highest stage of the sport of taekwondo.

That’s what you need to know about the sport of taekwondo. If you want to know the health benefits of taekwondo, ask your doctor at Hellodoc. Come on, download application Hellodoc right now!

Halodoc application download banner
The Karate. Accessed in 2022. Taekwondo Belt Order: Complete Belt Ranking System Guide
Hans Taekwondo. Accessed 2022. Taekwondo Techniques
Sports Star. Accessed in 2022. 6 Basic Taekwondo Techniques and How to Do It Complete”>Source link

Dr. Eka

A doctor, wife and mother of three. Spread the world with valid information.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button